1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. Nine MPs to be honored with ‘Sansad Ratna awards 2017’

Nine MPs to be honored with ‘Sansad Ratna awards 2017’

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

Chennai: Nine Members of Parliament in which three are from Rajya Sabha and six are from Lok Sabha will be honored with the prestigious ‘Sansad Ratna awards 2017’ tomorrow.

Also Read :- CBI apprehends  former deputy registrar of companies along with 3 others in chit fund scam case

While talking to the media, the chairman of Prime Point Foundation K. Srinivasan went on to say: “The awards will be presented to the parliamentarians by Justice (retd) P.Sathasivam, Governor of Kerala.”

“These awards were instituted by Prime Point Foundation and eMagazine PreSense based on the suggestion given by late President Dr.A.P.J. Abdul Kalam. This is the eighth edition of the award. This is the only award on behalf of the civil society to honour achievers in Parliament,” Srinivasan said.

The MPs’ performance is measured based on the number of debates they participate in, the number of questions raised, the number of private members’ bills introduced, attendance and usage of funds under the Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme.

Shrirang Appa Barne (Shiv Sena, Mavel, Maharashtra), Rajeev Shankarrao Satav (Indian National Congress, Hingoli, Maharashtra) and Dhananjay Bhimrao Mahadik (Nationalist Congress Party, Kolhapur, Maharashtra) have been nominated by the Jury Committee for awards under different categories.

Bhartruhari Mahtab (Biju Janata Dal, Cuttack, Odisha) and N.K. Premachandran (Revolutionary Socialist Party, Kollam, Kerala) have been nominated for Special Awards by the Jury Committee for their excellence in quality of debates and other Parliamentary proceedings.

Also Read :- Delhi Waqf Board case: AAP MLA Amanatullah Khan granted bail by Rouse Avenue court
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...