1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. Padma Award 2023: President Murmu conferring Padma Awards.

Padma Award 2023: President Murmu conferring Padma Awards.

President Draupadi Murmu presented the Padma Awards for the year 2023 at a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Prominent personalities were honored with Padma Awards.

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

New Delhi:President Draupadi Murmu felicitated the Padma award winners at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Wednesday. Among the 106 celebrities of the country who have been awarded Padma awards by President Draupadi Murmu, six Padma Vibhushan, nine Padma Bhushan and 91 Padma Shri awards are included.

Also Read :- President Draupadi Murmu will visit Suriname and Serbia from June 4 to 9

The Narendra Modi government, after coming to power in the year 2014, started the initiative to honor anonymous personalities who have made significant contributions to the society. Taking this initiative forward, Jodhaya Bai Baiga, a well-known artist of Baiga painting, Pandwali and panthi artist Usha Barle of Chhattisgarh, Raman Cheruvayal, a tribal farmer from Kerala, were awarded the Padma Shri.

Padma Awards are given in three categories which include Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The highest civilian honor Bharat Ratna has not been awarded to anyone after the year 2019. Padma Awards Outstanding work in the fields of social work, arts, public affairs, science and engineering, business and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, public service etc. It is given to those who do.

Padma Vibhushan:

1.Former Union Minister SM Krishna
2.Professor for Architecture Balkrishna Doshi (posthumous)
Padma Bhushan:
1.Aditya Birla Group Chairman Kumar Mangalam Birla
2.Padma Bhushan to Mrs. Suman Kalyanpur for Art
3.Kapil Kapoor Professor for Literature and Education
Padma Shri:
1.Pandwani singer Usha Barle
2.Bhanubhai Chitrara
3.Late President of Swadeshi People’s Front of Tripura Narendra Chandra Debbarma
4.Kantha embroidery artist Pritikana Goswami
5.Biologist Modadugu Vijay Gupta
6.Kantha embroidery artist Pritikana Goswami
7.Artisan Dilshad Hussain, has been carving brassware for decades
8.Punjabi scholar Dr Ratan Singh Jaggi
9.Mrs. Jodhaiya Bai Baiga for Art
10.Veteran investor and founder of Akasa Air Late Rakesh Jhunjhunwala (posthumously)

Also Read :- Draupadi Murmu in Sukhoi: President Draupadi Murmu flew in Sukhoi 30 MKI

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...