1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Pardaphash Special: Yogi, Maurya and Sharma wants it ‘easy’

Pardaphash Special: Yogi, Maurya and Sharma wants it ‘easy’

Updated Date

Lucknow: Yogi Adityanath, Keshav Maurya and Dinesh Sharma have 40 days to go before they must become members of either of the two houses of the state legislature.

Also Read :- India records 14,623 new COVID-19 cases in last 24hr , 12% higher than yesterday

But one thing is for sure, all three of them are not going to face a byelection.

Instead the resignations and subsequent defection of four sitting MLCs is a clear sign that Yogi and his deputy will take the newly vacant seats in the Legislative Council.

Yogi Adityanath and Maurya are Lok Sabha members while the likes of Dinesh Sharma, Swantantra Deo Singh and Mohsin Raza are not members of any house. They all need to be elected by Sept 18.

With five seats vacant in the Council, looks like these heavyweights are going to fill it.

Also Read :- Priyanka Gandhi stopped from visiting Agra to meet victim's family who died in custody

Had the chief minister opted for a direct election, there would have been some buzz but that is missing altogether.

Had the party wanted a byelection entry for Adityanath and Maurya – two sitting party MLAs would have to vacate their seats.

After that, EC would have to notify the byelections and a lengthy process that are associated with it would have taken the due course.

If he opt for the Council option, Yogi Adityanath would not be the first cm to do it. As a matter of fact, both Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav also thought the Council the better part of electoral valour.

Of the five seats currently vacant, four are to be elected by MLAs. With party having a majority in the Assembly with 325 seats, it would be a straightforward task.

Also Read :- Shah Rukh Khan's son Aryan Khan denied bail in Mumbai cruise drugs case, to Move Bombay HC


For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook and Twitter ...