1. Home
  2. Trending
  3. PM Modi turns emotional in bidding farewell to 72 retiring Rajya Sabha members

PM Modi turns emotional in bidding farewell to 72 retiring Rajya Sabha members

By wasmulhaq 
Updated Date

72 members of the Upper House bid adieu to the Rajya Sabha today. These Rajya Sabha (RS) members’ terms ended today. Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday bid farewell to all these retiring  MPs. PM Modi added that sometimes, experience of MPs has more power than academic knowledge.

Also Read :- Cameroon: Landslide kills at least 14 people attending funeral in Cameroon Yaounde

Our Rajya Sabha members have a lot of experience. Sometimes experience has more power than academic knowledge. We shall tell the retiring members, ‘come again’, ” Prime Minister Narendra Modi said.

Rajya Sabha, a permanent body

The Rajya Sabha is a permanent body, unlike the lower house, the Lok Sabha, which can be dissolved. But the Upper House can’t be dissolved, and the term of a member of this house is 6 years. However, one third of the members retire every second year. They are replaced by newly elected members.

The present strength of the Rajya Sabha is 245 members. As per the Representation of the People Act, 1951, a total of 250 members can be accommodated in the Upper House.

Also Read :- Weather update news: IMD issues rain alert in southern states, cold increase in North India

President can nominate 12 members

Currently, out of 245 MPs, 233 are elected by the legislatures of the states and union territories using single transferable votes through Open Ballot. Meanwhile, the President of India has the power to nominate 12 distinguished members for their immense contributions to art, literature, science, social services, sports, and so on.

House contributes a lot: PM

We have spent a long time in this Parliament. This House has contributed a lot to our lives, more than we have contributed to it. The experience gathered as a member of this House should be taken to all four directions of the country, “the prime minister said in the Rajya Sabha.

Retirement of eminent members

Also Read :- Indian student, 20, dies after colliding with pickup truck in Canada

Some of the prominent members retiring in April include deputy leader of the Congress, Anand Sharma, A K Antony, Subramanian Swamy, M C Mary Kom, and Swapan Dasgupta, while the terms of Nirmala Sitharaman, Suresh Prabhu, M J Akbar, Jairam Ramesh, Vivek Tankha, and V Vijayasai Reddy will end in June.

Among the members retiring in July are Piyush Goyal, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, P Chidambaram, Ambika Soni, Kapil Sibal, Satish Chandra Misra, Sanjay Raut, Praful Patel, and K J Alphons.

As per the sources, Vice President and Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, M. Venkaiah Naidu, will host a dinner on Thursday for all the members of the Rajya Sabha at his official residence, where mementos will be presented to the 72 retiring members.

The Rajya Sabha is also known as the “House of Elders.” Experience counts everywhere. The Upper House has always played a vital role in the passing of important bills. The contribution of its members can’t be overemphasized

For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...