1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Punjab CM Mann govt takes big decision, changes pension formula for MLAs

Punjab CM Mann govt takes big decision, changes pension formula for MLAs

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

Punjab: Punjab chief minister Bhagwant Mann today, March 25, said his government has taken another big decision today. Under this, the pension formula for Punjab’s members of legislative assembly (MLAs) will be changed and they will now be eligible for a pension of only one term.

Also Read :- Mainpuri By-elections 2022: Akhilesh Yadav wife Dimple Yadav, fielded by Samajwadi Party

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly elections 2022: BJP announces 1st list of candidates, CM Bhupendra Patel to contest from Ghatlodiya

“Thousands of crores of rupees which were being spent on MLA pensions will now be used to benefit the people of Punjab,” Mann said via his Twitter handle.

He also said, “Unemployment is a big issue in the state. All young boys and girls pursue higher degrees but they have to return to their homes. When they seek jobs on the basis of those degrees, they are lathi-charged..but they don’t get jobs. We are taking big steps in this direction.”

He said political leaders seek votes with folded hands to serve people. “But you’ll be surprised that many MLAs, after winning 3 or 4 or 5 times, keep on getting lakhs of rupees as a pension, hurting the pockets of state exchequer. We have also decided to cut the allowance given to their families.”

The latest decision comes three days after Mann in one of his first orders said that the state government will regularise the services of 35,000 contractual employees.”A decision has been taken to regularise the services of 35,000 contractual employees of group C and D,” Mann said in a video message.

In another big boost to Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) unit in Punjab, all its five nominees for the Rajya Sabha have been elected unopposed from the state. The AAP nominees for the Rajya Sabha from Punjab included former cricketer Harbhajan Singh, party leader Raghav Chadha, Lovely Professional University founder Ashok Mittal, IIT Delhi professor Sandeep Pathak and industrialist Sanjeev Arora for the March 31 elections.

Also Read :- Maharashtra: Division of portfolios in Maha cabinet, Home-Finance to Fadnavis, CM Shinde keeps urban development

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) registered a landslide victory in the Punjab polls winning 92 seats, pushing most of its rivals to the margins. Congress had won 18 seats in the 117-member Assembly. Bhagwant Mann from Aam Aadmi Party became the first Chief Minister of Punjab to be sworn from a non-Congress and non-Congress party on March 16.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...