1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Punjab polls 2022 : Congress releases 1st list of candidates, Sidhu to contest from Amritsar East

Punjab polls 2022 : Congress releases 1st list of candidates, Sidhu to contest from Amritsar East

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date
Punjab polls 2022 : Congress releases 1st list of candidates, Sidhu to contest from Amritsar East

Punjab Assembly Polls 2022: The Congress on Saturday released first list of 86 candidates for the upcoming assembly polls in Punjab. The ruling party has fielded Chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi from Chamkaur Sahib, while State chief Navjot Singh Sidhu will fight from Amritsar East.

Also Read :- Amarinder Singh meets poll strategist Prashant Kishor, sets off 'Tag Team 2022' talk

According to the Congress press release, Rajya Sabha MP Pratap Singh Bajwa and singer Sidhu Moosewala will contest the assembly polls from the Qadian and Mansa constituencies, respectively.

Meanwhile, Bollywood actor and philanthropist Sonu Sood’s sister Malvika is set to contest the polls from Moga, according to the Congress document.

The Congress has fielded Punjab deputy CMs — Sukhjinder Randhawa from Dera Baba Nanak and Om Prakash Soni from Amritsar Central.

Former PCC president and campaign committee chief Sunil Jakhar will not contest the polls and his nephew Sandeep Jakhar will contest the Abohar assembly seat instead.Similarly, Punjab minister Brahm Mohindra will not contest and his son Mohit Mohindra will contest from Patiala rural assembly seat in his place.

Among other sitting Punjab ministers, Manpreet Singh Badal will contest from Bathinda Urban, Vijay Inder Singla from Sangrur, Razia Sultana from Malerkotla, Gurkirat Singh Kotli from Khanna, Rana Gurjit Singh from Kapurthala, Tript Rajinder Bajwa from Fatehgarh Churian, Randeep Singh Nabha from Amloh, Amarinder Singh Raja Warring from Gidderbaha, Pargat Singh from Jalandhar Cantt.

Other ministers like Sangat Singh Gilzian has been fielded from Urmar, Raj Kumar Verka from Amritsar West-SC, Sukhbinder Sarkaria from Rajasansi, Bharat Bhushan Ashu from Ludhiana West.Former deputy chief minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal has been fielded from Lehragaga.

With the assembly polls in Punjab barely a month away, all the political quarters in the fray have ramped up their electoral preparations, despite mounting concerns over the coronavirus disease (Covid-19) situation. This year, the battle for Punjab is more intense as the state has been gripped with multiple issues such as farmers’ protests, while the ruling camp is dealing with bitter infighting.

The Congress party had finalised the names of its candidates in Punjab on Thursday after a meeting of the Central Election Committee held under the leadership of party chief Sonia Gandhi.

Party functionaries familiar with the developments told the news agency that there was a lack of consensus on repeating some of the sitting MLAs.

The assembly polls in Punjab are scheduled to take place in a single phase on February 14. The votes will be counted on March 10.

In the 2017 Assembly polls, the Congress had won an absolute majority in the state by winning 77 seats and ousted the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party government after 10 years.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) emerged as the second-largest party with 20 seats, followed by the SAD which managed a victory on 15 seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured three seats.

In September last year, the Punjab Congress was embroiled in a crisis that also saw former chief minister Amarinder Singh stepping down from his post. He has now formed his own party Punjab Lok Congress and is set to contest the elections from all 117 seats in alliance with the BJP.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook and Twitter ...