1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Rajya Sabha Election 2022 result : BJP posts big wins 8 seats in 4 states, Congress bags 3 in Rajasthan

Rajya Sabha Election 2022 result : BJP posts big wins 8 seats in 4 states, Congress bags 3 in Rajasthan

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Voting was held on Friday for 16 Rajya Sabha seats in four states of Maharashtra, Karnataka, Haryana and Rajasthan and the results of all the four states were declared by Saturday morning. The BJP posted a win in three of the four states. The Congress retained three seats in Rajasthan, but suffered setback in Haryana. In Maharashtra, the ruling alliance suffered a jolt.

Also Read :- Mainpuri By-elections 2022: Akhilesh Yadav wife Dimple Yadav, fielded by Samajwadi Party


The Congress party has won three Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan, while one seat has gone to the BJP.

The winning candidates from Congress are Pramod Tiwari (41 votes), Mukul Wasnik (42 votes) and Randeep Singh Surjewala (43 votes). BJP candidate and former minister Ghanshyam Tiwari won polling 43 votes. BJP-backed independent candidate Subhash Chandra has lost, polling 30 votes.

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot took to Twitter to said, “Congress’s victory on three Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan is a victory of democracy. I congratulate all the three newly elected MPs Shri Pramod Tiwari, Shri Mukul Wasnik and Shri Randeep Surjewala. I am sure that all the three MPs will be able to strongly advocate the rights of Rajasthan in Delhi.”

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly elections 2022: BJP announces 1st list of candidates, CM Bhupendra Patel to contest from Ghatlodiya


The Bharatiya Janata Party’s Nirmala Sitharaman, Actor-politician Jaggesh and Outgoing MLC Lehar Singh Siroya have won the Rajya Sabha elections from Karnataka, announced party national general secretary CT Ravi said. The Congress managed to win only one of the two seats on which it had fielded its candidates. The Janata Dal (Secular) failed to win any seat as Congress did not accept its request for support in the name of secularism. The party had fielded one candidate despite not having enough votes.


The ruling alliance of Shiv Sena, Sharad Pawar’s NCP and the Congress, suffered a setback with the BJP winning a third seat in a straight fight against the Sena. The alliance won three seats, and the BJP three. The counting of votes in the Rajya Sabha elections from Maharashtra began after 1 a.m. on Saturday following the Election Commission’s go-ahead.

The counting was scheduled to start at 5 p.m. on Friday, but it could not be taken up as the BJP approached the EC alleging violation of rules by three MLAs of the state’s ruling alliance of MVA. The MVA, meanwhile, had filed a similar complaint against the BJP. NCP State president and election in-charge Jayant Patil said, “The process has started after a wait of eight hours”. The ECI took almost eight hours to decide the validity of the votes which were objected upon, said the State Minister. The poll panel directed the returning officer of Maharashtra to reject the vote cast by Shiv Sena legislator Suhas Kande.

Also Read :- Maharashtra: Division of portfolios in Maha cabinet, Home-Finance to Fadnavis, CM Shinde keeps urban development


Haryana turned out an upset for the Congress, with one of the two seats won by the BJP and the other by Kartikeya Sharma, the media baron and Independent candidate it backed. Ajay Maken, for whom the party initially claimed a victory, lost. In Haryana too, the counting of votes began late on Friday night after the Election Commission gave the go-ahead, officials said. The counting was held up following complaints about violation of rules.

Officials said the counting began past midnight after the Election Commission gave the permission to the returning officer to go ahead with it. The state’s s ruling BJP had initially sought cancellation of the votes of two Congress members, alleging that two Congress MLAs showed their ballot papers to unauthorised persons. Ajay Maken also wrote to the Election Commission, alleging the BJP’s objection was “false and frivolous”.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...