1. Home
  2. Cricket
  3. Ranji Trophy 2023 Final: Saurashtra defeated Bengal by 9 wickets to lift the Ranji Trophy title

Ranji Trophy 2023 Final: Saurashtra defeated Bengal by 9 wickets to lift the Ranji Trophy title

Saurashtra thrashed Bengal by nine wickets at the Eden Gardens on Sunday to lift their second Ranji Trophy in three seasons.

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

New Delhi:Saurashtra’s earlier triumph was in 2019-20 season when they defeated Bengal on the basis of first innings lead. In the last 10 seasons, they have made the final on five occasions, underlining their consistency.
A Ranji Trophy title eluded Bengal yet again. They last won it in 1998-90 when they defeated a star-studded Delhi at the same Eden Gardens. Their first title had come in 1938-39 in the pre-independence era.
“It was important to win this one to prove the dominance and to show everyone that this era, this decade belongs to Saurashtra” Unadkat said.
The best example of the Saurashtra’s successful campaign is Vasavada, who made some crucial contributions in the knockout games – 407 runs in three matches, the scores being 81 (in the final vs Bengal), 202 and 47 n.o. (in the semifinal vs Karnataka) and 0 & 77 (in the quarterfinal against Punjab).
On his part, Vasavada, says, “I am really happy for the side and we are all elated. I am satisfied with my showing as well, I have worked on my mental skills if not exactly on my batting skills.

Also Read :- IMD forecast predicts moderate to heavy rain is expected in Odisha, WB, Jharkhand, Sikkim and Bihar today and tomorrow

Saurashtra in Ranji Trophy this season(2022-2023):

League stage:

Took first innings lead against Assam in Guwahati.

Took first innings lead against Maharashtra in Rajkot.

Also Read :- Twitter bans Pakistan govt's official account in India

Beat Mumbai by 48 runs in Mumbai.

Beat Delhi by an innings and 214 runs in Rajkot.

Beat Hyderabad by an innings and 57 runs in Hyderabad.

Lost to Andhra by 150 runs in Rajkot.

Lost to Tamil Nadu by 59 runs in Chennai.

Also Read :- Nine flights from Delhi airport to Jaipur airport diverted as heavy rain lash national capital


Beat Punjab in Rajkot by 71 runs.


Beat Karnataka in Bengaluru by four wickets.


Beat Bengal by nine wickets in Kolkata.

Also Read :- Jammu and Kashmir: Explosion near police post in Hiranagar, no injury reported

Ranji Trophy in last 10 years:
Edition Winner
2012-13 Mumbai (beat Saurashtra)
2013-14 Karnataka (beat Maharashtra)
2014-15 Karnataka (beat Tamil Nadu)
2015-16 Mumbai (beat Saurashtra)
2016-17 Gujarat (beat Mumbai)
2017-18 Vidarbha (beat Delhi)
2018-19 Vidarbha (beat Saurashtra)
2019-20 Saurashtra (beat Bengal)
2020-21 not held
2021-22 Madhya Pradesh (beat Mumbai)
2022-23 Saurashtra (beat Bengal)

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...