1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Rein of glabrated leaders on UP CM seat for past 37 years, coincidence or something else?

Rein of glabrated leaders on UP CM seat for past 37 years, coincidence or something else?

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date
Rein of glabrated leaders on UP CM seat for past 37 years, coincidence or something else?

Lucknow: It seems like smooth faced leaders or bald politicians have always had a smooth way to the seat of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister. With a 37 year old history, that actually validates this clean-shaven theory of politicians catapulting to the higher state seat, a lot can be said about these clean-shaven leaders in UP who went on to become Chief Ministers. In this, from dalit, OBC to upper caste leaders are also included. With state going to contest assembly polls next month, we, the team of PardaPhash are going to tell you who those glabrous leaders have been in whose hands the reins of the Uttar Pradesh remained:

Also Read :- Supreme Court is set to hear plea challenging the video survey of the Gyanvapi mosque today

Veer Bahadur Singh

Veer Bahadur Singh who was the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, who did not sport a moustache when he was the chief minister of the state from September 24, 1985 to June 24, 1988. Before this, Babu Banarasi Das, Tribhuvan Narain Singh and Chandra Bhanu Gupta also hold the CM post without a clean-shaven face.

ND Tiwari

Also Read :- Petition seeking to open 22 rooms of Taj Mahal dismissed; Allahabad HC says, "it should be left to historians....."

ND Tiwari has been a big name in Uttar Pradesh’ politics. He remained the chief minister of the state from June 25, 1988 to December 1989. He also did not have a moustache.

Mulayam Singh Yadav

The founder of Samajwadi Party (SP), Mulayam Singh Yadav, has always been known for his political style although he flaunted moustache in the initial days but later he went clean-shaven. Mulayam has been the CM of the state for three terms between 1989 and 2007.

Also Read :- 7 including a child killed, 2 injured in car accident on Yamuna Expressway in Mathura; UP CM & PM expresses deep grief

Kalyan Singh

Kalyan Singh was a big name in the politics of Uttar Pradesh. In 1991, he became the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh but had to resign from the post following Babri Masjid Demolition. He became CM twice in the state and also often remained clean-shaven.

Ram Prakash Gupta

Ram Prakash Gupta was the chief minister of UP from November 12, 1999 to October 28, 2000. He was also a clean-shaven CM.

Also Read :- UP cop allegedly rape minor inside police station when she went to file assault case

Rajnath Singh

The current defence minister of the country, Rajnath Singh has also held the post of UP chief minister from October 2000 to March 2000. Rajnath Singh is also a clean-shaven leader.

Akhilesh Yadav

SP national president Akhilesh Yadav was the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh from 2012-2017. Akhilesh has also never grown beard or mousetach.

Yogi Adityanath

Also Read :- UP: Yogi-govt removes more than 45,000 loudspeakers from various religious places

The serving Chief Minister of the state, Yogi Adityanath, took charge of the CM post of UP in 2017. The former head priest of Gorakhpur math is both bald and clean-shaven.

The five states going to polls are Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Goa. Assembly polls will be held between February 10 and March 7 and the election results will be announced on March 10.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook and Twitter ...