1. Home
  2. Trending
  3. Sandeep Pathak, Raghav Chadha, & Harbhajan Singh are likely to be sent to RS by AAP.

Sandeep Pathak, Raghav Chadha, & Harbhajan Singh are likely to be sent to RS by AAP.

By wasmulhaq 
Updated Date

There are two houses in the Indian parliament. The Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. The Rajya Sabha (RS), which is also known by two different names, the Upper House or House of Elders. Time has come for the nomination of members for the RS in several states.

Also Read :- System crash at Mumbai Airport Terminal 2, passengers stuck in long queues

The Rajya Sabha elections are going to be held on March 31. AAP is in an upbeat mood after winning the Punjab assembly polls with a thumping margin. Currently, the party is set to nominate Sandeep Pathak, Raghav Chadha, and Harbhajan Singh for RS from Punjab. Remember, Pathak is an Associate Professor at IIT-Delhi and an AAP strategist as well.

No official decision yet

Although the party has not taken any official decision, the names of AAP leader Raghav Chadha and former India cricketer Harbhajan Singh are in the air as well.

Ashok Kumar Mittal, chancellor of Lovely Professional University, may be the fourth AAP nominee for the Rajya Sabha elections from Punjab. The seats in Punjab arose as the terms of the sitting MPs ended on April 9.

Also Read :- Shraddha Murder case: Accused Aaftab Poonawala's Narco test successfully completed

RS elections to take place to March 31

The last day to file nominations for the five Punjab Rajya Sabha seats ends today. The Rajya Sabha elections will take place on March 31.

The party has announced that former Indian cricketer Harbhajan Singh, also known as “Turbanator,” will be the Aam Aadmi Party’s Punjab candidate for the Rajya Sabha elections this year. The Aam Aadmi Party will get five seats in the Rajya Sabha by the end of this month.

As per the sources, the newly-formed state government of Punjab, led by Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann, might give a power to control a sports university to Harbhajan Singh.

Right before the Punjab election held in February, rumours of “Turbanator” Harbhajan Singh joining the BJP were widespread. Quite a few media persons reported on the likelihood and claimed that a senior BJP leader had said, “We have them Harbhajan and former India all-rounder Yuvraj Singh on the radar.” Let us see. “Bhajji” later dismissed the rumours as baseless.

Also Read :- Digi Yatra: Delhi, Varanasi and Bengaluru airport launches Facial Recognition-Based entry today

BJP announces nominees’ names

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced five Rajya Sabha nominees, four on Friday and one on Saturday morning.

According to the party’s official statement on Friday, the BJP high command approved the names of Pabitra Margherita from Assam, Sikandar Kumar from Himachal Pradesh, Manik Saha from Tripura and S. Phangnon Konyak from Nagaland.

On Saturday, Rwngwra Narzary, working president of UPPL (United People’s Party-Liberal), was named as the other candidate from Assam. The BJP is in an alliance with the UPPL in Assam.

Taking to Twitter, Pramod Boro, President of UPPL, wrote: “We are really happy to announce the name of Rwngwra Narzary, Working President of UPPL, as the candidate for the ensuing Rajya Sabha election.” We extend our heartfelt thanks to our coalition partners, the BJP and AGP, for giving us one seat in Rajya Sabha to contest. ”

BJP retains all four seats

Also Read :- 3 Kids stuck in elevator in Ghaziabad's society for 20 minutes, case filed

The BJP has retained all four states it ruled, with a sparkling victory in politically crucial Uttar Pradesh, ensuring a boost in the coming Rajya Sabha polls and the 2024 national elections. AAP swept Punjab, wiping out the ruling Congress.

Four of the five states that went to polls voted the BJP to power, while the Aam Aadmi Party swept Punjab.

What are some of the reasons behind the BJP’s win in the key state of Uttar Pradesh? What does this mean for the Samajwadi Party, Congress and BSP in the state? With AAP making history in Punjab, is this the dawn of Arvind Kejriwal as a national leader? And, has Congress self-destructed? Here’s an analysis and explanation of the Assembly election results.

The BJP has retained all four states it ruled, with a sparkling victory in politically crucial Uttar Pradesh, ensuring a boost in the coming Rajya Sabha polls and the 2024 national elections. AAP swept Punjab, wiping out the ruling Congress.

Overview of the Upper House

Article 80 of the Constitution lays down the maximum strength of the Rajya Sabha as 250, out of which 12 members are nominated by the President and 238 are representatives of the States and two Union Territories.

Seat allocation

Also Read :- Watch: South Korean YouTuber molested on Mumbai road, 2 arrested after video goes viral

The Fourth Schedule to the Constitution provides for the allocation of seats to the States and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha. The allocation of seats is made on the basis of the population of each state. Consequent to the reorganization of states and the formation of new states, the number of elected seats in the Rajya Sabha allotted to states and union territories has changed from time to time since 1952.



Article 84 of the Constitution lays down the qualifications for membership of Parliament. A person wishing to be qualified for membership of the Rajya Sabha should have the following qualifications:

  • He must be an Indian citizen and take and subscribe an oath or affirmation in the form prescribed in the Third Schedule to the Constitution before some person authorized in that capacity by the Election Commission.
  • He must be at least 30 years of age.



  • According to Article 102 of the Constitution, a person is disqualified from being elected to and serving in either House of Parliament.


  • If he holds any office of profit under the government of India or the government of any state, other than an office declared by Parliament by law not to disqualify its holder,
  • If a competent court declares him to be of unsound mind;
  • if he is a dissatisfied insolvent
  • If he is not a citizen of India, or has voluntarily acquired the citizenship of a foreign state, or is under any acknowledgement of allegiance or adherence to a foreign state,
  • If he is so disqualified by or under any law made by Parliament.


  • A member nominated to the House by the President, however, is allowed to join a political party if he/she does so within the first six months of taking a seat in the House.


  • If a member voluntarily leaves his political party after being elected Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, he will not be disqualified on this basis.

Election/Nomination Process

The representatives of the States and of the Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha are elected by the method of indirect election. The representatives of each state and two union territories are elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of that state and by the members of the Electoral College for that union territory, as the case may be, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote.

The Electoral College for the National Capital Territory of Delhi consists of the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of Delhi, and that for Puducherry consists of the elected members of the Puducherry Legislative Assembly.

RS a permanent body

The Rajya Sabha is a permanent house and is not subject to dissolution. However, one-third of Rajya Sabha members retire every two years. A member who is elected for a full term serves for a period of six years.




For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...