1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Sitaram Yechury re-elected CPM General Secretary for third consecutive term

Sitaram Yechury re-elected CPM General Secretary for third consecutive term

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

Kerala: Senior CPI(M) leader Sitaram Yechury was re-elected as the General Secretary of the party for the third consecutive time in Kannur on Sunday, April 10.

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly results set to determine AAP's fate; needs to win two seats to become national party

Sitaram Yechury was chosen to lead the party by an 85-member new Central Committee that was elected at the Party Congress which was held in the Kannur district of the state.

Yechury was first elected to the post on April 9, 2015, at the 21st Party Congress held in the Visakhapatnam district of Andhra Pradesh. In the 22nd Party Congress held in Hyderabad in 2018, Yechury bagged the second term for the highest post in the Left party. Sitaram Yechury succeeded Prakash Karat who had held the top post in the party for three consecutive terms from 2005 to 2015.

Speaking to the delegates after being re-elected to the top post at CPI(M)’s 23rd Party Congress, Mr Yechury said the principal task of the party was to isolate and defeat the BJP, which is pursuing the Hindutva communal agenda of the fascistic RSS.

He said isolation and defeat of the BJP was essential not only for our forward march for human liberation but to safeguard India as a secular democratic republic.

Also Read :- MP: Class 5 Girl paraded with garland of shoes in hostel on suspicion of theft

The Party Congress also selected 17-member polit bureau and 85-member central committee to lead the party for next three years.

Senior leader from West Bengal, Ram Chandra Dome was elevated to the polit bureau from the central committee and has become the first Dalit representation in PB ever.

Two new faces – LDF convenor A Vijayaraghavan from Kerala and All India Kissan Sabha president Ashok Dhawle – have also been selected to the polit bureau of the CPI(M).

Meanwhile, senior leaders S Ramachandran Pillai, Biman Bose and Hannan Mollah were dropped from the PB as they crossed the upper age limit of 75 years. However, all three of them are now special invitees to the central committee.

Among the 85-member central committee, 17 are fresh faces, while 15 are women members.

Also Read :- Congress goes to Election Commission's office to complain about 'fake voters' in Karnataka assembly constituency

State ministers K N Balagopal, P Rajeev, former MP C S Sujatha and Kerala women’s commission chairperson P Sathidevi are the new entrants to the central committee from Kerala.

The five-day-long national conference of the Left party will come to an end today with a massive rally at Kannur.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...