1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. SP Chief Akhilesh Yadav names Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ally Jayant Chaudhary for Rajya Sabha polls

SP Chief Akhilesh Yadav names Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ally Jayant Chaudhary for Rajya Sabha polls

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav has decided to choose Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ally Jayant Chaudhary over his wife Dimple Yadav as the party’s candidate for Rajya Sabha.

Also Read :- Akhilesh Yadav resigns from Lok Sabha, retains UP assembly seat

On Thursday morning, The SP said in a tweet that 43-year-old leader Ally Jayant Chaudhary “will be the joint candidate for Rajya Sabha from (the) Samajwadi Party and (the) Rashtriya Lok Dal.”

The update comes a day after former union minister Kapil Sibal filed the Rajya Sabha nomination with support from Akhilesh Yadav’s party and amid speculation that Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple Yadav was party’s first choice for Rajya Sabha.

Veteran Congress leader Kapil Sibal told reporters in Lucknow, “I have filed the nomination as an Independent candidate. I thank Akhileshji for supporting me”. “I resigned from the Congress on May 16 and am no longer a Congress leader,” he said, refusing to be drawn into criticism of the party. Sibal had previously called for a non-Gandhi as the new party chief.

Akhilesh Yadav said on Sibal filing the RS nomination, “He is an eminent lawyer and has a political career. He had effectively put and discussed important issues in Lok Sabha, and Rajya Sabha. The country has many issues facing it and I hope that he will effectively put issues in the Rajya Sabha.”

The Rajya Sabha elections next month will include 11 Uttar Pradesh seats. The Samajwadi Party has 111 MLAs in the 403-member UP assembly and can send three members to the upper house of parliament. The BJP has 255 members and can send eight members to Rajya Sabha. Uttar Pradesh sends 31 MPs to the upper house; 11 of them are set to retire on July 4. These include five BJP members, three from the Samajwadi Party, two from Mayawati’s BSP and one from the Congress. The election for 57 Rajya Sabha seats across 15 states will be held on June 10.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...