1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Spain beat England in the final of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

Spain beat England in the final of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

Spain has won the Women's FIFA World Cup for the first time. Spain beat England 1–0 in the final. Spain's Olga Carmona scored the only goal of the match in the 29th minute.

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

SYDNEY:The Spanish team has become the fifth team to win the Women’s FIFA World Cup. Prior to this, the United States has won the Women’s FIFA World Cup title four times, Germany twice, Norway and Japan once each. This is Spain’s first medal in this tournament and that too gold. The most surprising thing is that Spain had won only one match in this tournament before this Women’s FIFA World Cup edition.

Also Read :- Delhi High Court Rules Aadhaar Not Compulsory for EWS Admission in Private Schools

The Spanish team could not even qualify for the 1991, 1995, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2011 Women’s FIFA World Cups. For the first time in 2015, the Spanish team played in the Women’s FIFA World Cup and lost two out of three matches. With a draw, the Spanish team was eliminated from the group stage.

Spain dominated
England created chances in the first half, but Spain completely dominated the second half. Spain held the ball 58% of the time in the match. At the same time, hit 13 shots towards the goal. England had 8 shots on goal and held 42% of the ball possession.

Spain got a chance in the second half, but missed
In the second half, Spain managed to maintain their lead. Spain got a chance to score from the penalty in the 70th minute. However, England goalkeeper Mary Earps saved Spain’s Jennifer Hermoso’s penalty to keep the score at 1–0.

Also Read :- India accuses Canadian government of providing safe haven to terrorists
Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...