1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Swami Prasad Maurya, Dharam Singh Saini, 2 BJP rebel MLAs join Akhilesh Yadav

Swami Prasad Maurya, Dharam Singh Saini, 2 BJP rebel MLAs join Akhilesh Yadav

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Rebel BJP MLAs including Swami Prasad Maurya and former UP minister Dharam Singh Saini joined the Samajwadi Party on Friday in the presence of opposition leader Akhilesh Yadav. Also joining the Samajwadi Party were MLAs Mukesh Verma, Vinay Shakya and Bhagwati Sagar.

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly polls: Former BJP minister Jaynarayan Vyas joins Congress

These MLAs were among 8 BJP leaders who left the saffron party ahead of the elections citing neglect toward the backward classes and Dalit voters.

Also Read :- Two domes built at Karnataka bus stop vanish overnight after BJP MP threatens for looking like a mosque

Earlier, Maurya lashed out at BJP for playing foul politics after an arrest warrant was issued in his name in an 8-year-old case.

“A non-bailable warrant has been issued against me in an 8 yr old case. It’s just 2nd day of my resignation (as UP min). Even if dozens of cases are registered against me, my morale will not be weakened. The more they trouble me, the more strongly I’ll defeat them,” ANI quoted Maurya as saying.

The warrant was issued by a local court on Wednesday in a 2014 case for allegedly making objectionable comments against Hindu gods.

Swami Prasad Maurya’s resignation triggered a mass exodus of ministers and MLA’s in BJP ahead of assembly polls. So far, 7 BJP leaders have quit the party to join Akhilesh Yadav’s SP.

Uttar Pradesh will go to the polls from February 10 in seven phases.

Also Read :- Video: 'Pakistan Zindabad' slogan raised in Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Yatra, claims BJP

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...