1. Home
  2. Cricket
  3. TATA bags title rights for WPL 2023,BCCI announced

TATA bags title rights for WPL 2023,BCCI announced

Tata Group has bagged the title rights for the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League, beginning in Mumbai on March 4.

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

Women’s Premier League: The first season of the Women’s Premier League will be played from 4 March. While the final match will be played on 26 March. At the same time, the title sponsor of the Women’s Premier League has been announced. Tata Group will be the title sponsor of the first season of the Women’s Premier League. BCCI secretary Jay Shah took to Twitter to share the news. He wrote
“I am delighted to announce the #TataGroup as the title sponsor of the inaugural #WPL. With their support, we’re confident that we can take women’s cricket to the next level,” the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah tweeted.

Also Read :- Women's Premier League will start with a bang, these celebrities will perform in the opening ceremony

BCCI got Rs 951 crore from the sale of media rights of IPL tournament and five teams were sold for Rs 4700 crore. IPL had also become the second biggest sports league in the world. Money rained heavily in the Women’s Premier League auction as well. In the auction held earlier this month, Indian opener Smriti Mandhana was the costliest buy for Rs 3.4 crore.

Also Read :- BCCI chief selector Chetan Sharma resigns amid row over alleged remarks in a sting operation

The league, which have five teams – Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore & UP Warriorz – will have its first double-header day on March 5 when Royal Challengers Bangalore will square off against Delhi Capitals at the Brabourne Stadium, CCI while UP Warriorz will play their first game of the league against Gujarat Giants at the DY Patil Stadium.

There will be four double headers with the first match starting at 3:30pm and all evening matches will start at 7:30pm. A total of 11 matches each will be held at the DY Patil Stadium and Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, the BCCI said in a media release.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...