1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Team India squad for World Test Championship final announced

Team India squad for World Test Championship final announced

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

The BCCI today announced a 15-member India squad for World Test Championship final against New Zealand, which is scheduled to begin on June 18. Initially, a 20-member squad had travelled to England for the WTC final and upcoming England Tests.

Also Read :- Proud! Indian shuttler PV Sindhu wins elusive 19th gold medal at CWG 2022, beats Canada's Michelle Li in Badminton women's singles

Veteran speedster Umesh Yadav pipped Brisbane Test hero Shardul Thakur as the 15th member of the Indian squad that will take on New Zealand in the World Test Championship final.

Umesh, along with Mohammed Shami, and Hanuma Vihari all of whom got injured during the Australia tour, were back in the 15 that needed to be announced as per ICC squad protocol.

Apart from Shardul, the notable names to miss out were Mayank Agarwal, and Washington Sundar, who were in the playing XI for the Test match against Australia.

England series hero Axar Patel also missed out.

Also Read :- Virat Kohli steps down as Test Captain of Indian cricket team

India: Virat Kohli (captain) Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Md Shami Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Umesh Yadav, Hanuma Vihari.

Also Read :- India vs South Africa 2nd Test: Team blue struggles against Proteas on Day 1
Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...