1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Thawarchand Gehlot take charge as K’taka new Gov amid Modi cabinet reshuffle buzz

Thawarchand Gehlot take charge as K’taka new Gov amid Modi cabinet reshuffle buzz

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

New Delhi: As the Center on July 6 brought seven changes in gubernatorial assignments, senior cabinet minister Thawarchand Gehlot was appointed as governor of politically crucial Karnataka, which is yet another strong indication towards the Modi cabinet reshuffle, which is likely this week.

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly polls: Former BJP minister Jaynarayan Vyas joins Congress

On Tuesday, other than Gehlot, Hari babu Kambhampati was appointed as Governor of Mizoram, Mangubhai Chaganbhai Patel was appointed as Governor of Madhya Pradesh and Rajendran Vishwanath Arlekar was appointed as Governor of Himachal Pradesh.

PS Sreedharan Pillai was transferred and appointed as Governor of Goa, Satyadev Narayan Arya was transferred and appointed as Governor of Tripura, Ramesh Bais was transferred as Governor of Jharkhand and Bandaru Dattatreya appointed as Governor of Haryana.

With these appointments, the Modi government has tried to accommodate record number of SC/ST, OBC and women to the high office of Raj Bhawan.

A substantial number of gubernatorial assignments have been given to those hailing from SC communities. This includes Thawar Chand Gehlot, among the BJP’s tallest SC leaders and ex-Cabinet Minister, who will serve as the Governor of Karnataka. Rajendra Arlekar will now become the Governor of Himachal Pradesh. He has represented Pernem in the Goa Assembly. Satyadev Narayan Arya will take charge as the Governor of Tripura. Baby Rani Maurya is currently serving as Uttarakhand Governor. 

Also Read :- Two domes built at Karnataka bus stop vanish overnight after BJP MP threatens for looking like a mosque

Governors from the Tribal community are Mangubhai Patel, who will now be Governor of Madhya Pradesh and is a long standing leader of the tribal communities with years of political experience in Gujarat. Anusuiya Uikey is the serving as Governor of Chattisgarh

Besides, key governorships are being held by leaders who have worked for OBC aspirations.

Phagu Chauhan who belongs to Lonia community from eastern UP is the Governor of Bihar. Ramesh Bais will now become the Governor of Jharkhand. Bandaru Dattatraya will be the Governor of Haryana after a stint in Himachal Pradesh. Ganga Prasad Chaurasiya is Governor of Sikkim. Tamilisai Soundararajan serves in Telangana with additional charge of Puducherry.

Now, there are three governors from the Jat community. Perhaps it is for the first time in India’s history that there are three Governors belonging to the Jat Community, a Modi government’ strong message to the peasant community belonging to Punjab, Haryana and western UP where farm union protests are taking place.

Among Jat governor, Jagdeep Dhankar is in the politically crucial state of West Bengal. Acharya Devvrat is Governor of Prime Minister Modi’s home state Gujarat. Satyapal Malik is serving as Meghalaya Governor.

Also Read :- Video: 'Pakistan Zindabad' slogan raised in Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Yatra, claims BJP

Besides, two leading Muslim intellectuals are governors. Arif Mohammad Khan is the Governor of Kerala and Najma Heptulla is the Governor of Manipur.

As BJP has been growing in Telgu states , the appointment of K Hari Babu, along with Bandaru Dattatraya), both being Telgu, is also a political message to Telengana and Andhra Pradesh people.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...