1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Three poorest MLAs of UP who contested polls with little money and won

Three poorest MLAs of UP who contested polls with little money and won

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Lucknow: Politics is often seen as the game of money, power and muscle. And all of this makes a perfect concoction for success in elections. This time also it happened where in several viral videos politicians could be seen distributing money to voters to buy their support. However, when the result came out, the importance of money and power turned out to be so obvious. Out of 403, 366 elected MLAs have disclosed assets of one crore or more. Which roughly means that around 91% millionaire have reached the assembly this time.  

Also Read :- Video: 'Pakistan Zindabad' slogan raised in Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Yatra, claims BJP

Well, in the midst of all this, there are also few names, who proved that money, power and muscle are not the necessary factors to win elections. In this article, we are going to tell you about three such three politicians who changed this narrative and despite being poor they performed better than others and got elected in the UP Legislative Assembly:

These are the top-3 poor MLAs of UP Polls 2022

1. Anil Pradhan (Samajwadi Party): Contesting from Chitrakoot constituency on Samajwadi Party ticket, Anil Pradhan is the poorest MLA of Uttar Pradesh. He owns assets worth only 30 thousand 496 rupees. As per his affidavit, Anil neither have a house nor any land registered in his name.

2. Shravan Kumar Nishad (BJP): Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidate Shravan Kumar Nishad, who won from Chauri-Chaura seat of Gorakhpur, is the second poorest MLA of UP. Shravan has total assets worth Rs 72 thousand 996 and he neither has any house nor owns any piece of land in his name. 

Also Read :- Gujarat Elections: Several BJP rebels decide to contest state assembly elections as independent candidates

3. Gudiya Katheria (BJP): Another BJP candidate from Auraiya seat is the third poorest MLA, with total assets of Rs 10.75 lakh. However, Gudiya has neither a house nor any land in her name. 

Also, Apna Dal (Sonelal) MLA Vinay Verma from Shohratgarh seat of Siddharthnagar, SP MLA Akhilesh from Mubarakpur seat in Azamgarh, BJP MLA Jaydrath from Barkheda in Pilibhit are also in the top-10 list of poorest MLAs from UP. The names of Shyamdhani Rahi from Kapilvastu of Siddharthnagar, Pankaj from Mungra Badshahpur of Jaunpur, Kailash from Chakia of Chandauli and Suhaib alias Mannu Ansari (son of heavyweight Mukhtar Ansari) from Mohammadabad of Ghazipur are also included in some of the poorest candidates in UP.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...