1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Today voting on 59 seats in Meghalaya and 59 seats in Nagaland.

Today voting on 59 seats in Meghalaya and 59 seats in Nagaland.

Today around 59 assembly constituencies each in Meghalaya and Nagaland will go to polls.

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

Nagaland Assembly Election: Nagaland assembly began at 7 am on Monday. Polling will continue until 4 pm and counting of votes will be held on March 2.
Chief Electoral Officer V. Shashank Shekhar said that 305 companies are deployed in Nagaland. Sensitive booths will be monitored by CCTV. The international border has also been sealed for 72 hours.
There is triangular to multi-cornered contest on most of the seats here. The polls will decide the fate of 183 candidates.
Total 13.09 lakh voters in Nagaland, six lakh 56 thousand 35 are women. There are six lakh 53 thousand 616 male voters.
the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) are looking to retain power in the state.

Also Read :- Meghalaya Election 2023: Administration imposed night curfew in several districts after post-poll violence

Meghalaya Assembly Election: Polling will be held in 59 out of 60 assembly seats. Polling in Sohiong constituency has been postponed due to the death of one of the candidates.
In Meghalaya, out of 21.61 lakh voters, 10 lakh 92 thousand 396 are women, while 10 lakh 68 thousand 801 are men. A total of 3,419 polling booths have been set up. As many as 640 polling booths have been categorised as “vulnerable” and 323 as “critical”. A total of 369 candidates, including 36 women candidates, are in the fray.
Chief Minister Conrad Sangma’s National People’s Party (NPP) is seeking a second term in the Meghalaya Assembly election.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...