1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Tripura bypolls results 2022: BJP bags 3 out of 4 seats, CM Saha wins from Bardowali, Congress bags 1

Tripura bypolls results 2022: BJP bags 3 out of 4 seats, CM Saha wins from Bardowali, Congress bags 1

By Priyanka Verma 
Updated Date

New Delhi: On Sunday, Couting of votes was completed in Tripura bypolls in four Assembly constituencies. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has bagged victory on three out of four seats in the Tripura bypolls and congress bags 1.

Also Read :- MP: Class 5 Girl paraded with garland of shoes in hostel on suspicion of theft

Also Read :- Congress goes to Election Commission's office to complain about 'fake voters' in Karnataka assembly constituency

Tripura chief minister and BJP candidate Manik Saha won the Town Bardowali assembly seat by 6,104 votes against his nearest rival Asish Kumar Saha of the Congress. Saha won 17,181 votes, while Asish Kumar secured 11,077 votes. Congress candidate Sudip Roy Barman won the prestigious Agartala seat by 3,163 votes. He secured 17,241 votes, which is 43.46 per cent of the total votes polled. The BJP’s Swapna Das won in Surma, and BJP’s Smt. Malina Debnath won from Jubarajnagar constituency.

Manik Saha, a Rajya Sabha MP, was appointed the chief minister of the state last month after then CM Biplab Deb’s sudden resignation. He had to win this by-election to continue as the chief minister. He will now resign as an MP after being elected to the assembly, as per the rules. The bypoll was held in the Town Bardowali seat after Asish Kumar Saha resigned as a BJP MLA and joined the Congress in February.

Voting for the Tripura bypolls in four Assembly constituencies took place on Thursday (June 23). Out of 1,89,032 people, over 78.58 per cent of them cast their votes amid incidents of violence. As a precautionary measure, prohibitory orders have been imposed in the areas where the by-election was held. Police said they are maintaining a close vigil on the situation.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...