1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. U’khand polls 2022: BJP releases list of 59 candidates, CM Dhami to contest from Khatima

U’khand polls 2022: BJP releases list of 59 candidates, CM Dhami to contest from Khatima

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday announced the first list of 59 candidates for a 70-member House for the upcoming Uttarakhand assembly elections 2022 at party national headquarters in Delhi.

Also Read :- Congress and AAP mock Anurag Thakur; Union minister fails to save his booth

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami will contest the polls from his current constituency Khatima, while state BJP president Madan Kaushik has retained his Haridwar seat.

Satpal Maharaj and Dhan Singh Rawat will also contest the Assembly polls from Chaubattakhal and Srinagar respectively. The first list has six women nominees: Rekha Arya (Someshwar), Chandra Pant (Pithoragarh), Sarita Arya (Nainital), Renu Bisht (Yamkeshwar), Kunwarrani Devyani (Khanapur) and Savita Kapoor (Dehradun Cantt).

Saurabh Bahuguna, son of former CM Vijay Bahuguna, has been nominated from Sitarganj, Bansidhar Bhagat from Kaladhungi, Swami Yatishwaranand from Haridwar Rural, Pradeep Batra from Roorkee, Ganesh Joshi from Mussoorie and Bishan Singh Chufal from Didihat.

Union minister Pralhad Joshi said that fifteen candidates are Brahmins and three from the trading community. The saffron party has dropped around 10 sitting MLAs.

Joshi said the BJP will go into polls on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision for Uttarakhand along with the work of its state government.

The candidates’ list for the remaining 11 seats of the Uttarakhand Assembly seats will be announced later. BJP had won 57 out of 70 seats in the 2017 Assembly elections.

Also Read :- AAP secures majority to win MCD elections; it dethrones BJP’s 15-year reign

Voting will be held in one phase for the Uttarakhand Assembly on February 14 and the results will be announced on March 10.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...