1. Home
  2. Region
  3. UP: Aligarh rechristen as ‘Harigarh’, Mainpuri district will also be renamed

UP: Aligarh rechristen as ‘Harigarh’, Mainpuri district will also be renamed

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

Aligarh: As soon as the power of District Panchayat changes in UP, the exercise of changing the name has also started. The proposal to rename Aligarh district as ‘Harigarh’ has been passed. Along with this, a proposal to name Mainpuri after Mayan Rishi has also been passed in the district panchayat.

Also Read :- Aligarh: One dead, more than 65 workers fall sick due to ammonia gas leak at meat factory

In the meeting of the district panchayat, a proposal was made to name Aligarh as Harigarh. Which was also passed unanimously. Along with this, the Mainpuri District Panchayat has also passed a proposal to change the name of the district.

In the meeting of the District Panchayat Board in Aligarh, Kehri Singh and Umesh Yadav had proposed to change the name of Aligarh to ‘Harigarh’, which was unanimously passed by all the members.

At the same time, in Mainpuri also, the members of the District Panchayat proposed to name Mainpuri as Mayan Nagar, due to it being the Tapobhoomi of Mayan Rishi. During the meeting, there was also a protest from some district panchayat members regarding changing the name of Mainpuri. However, after getting the majority of the Zilla Panchayat members, District Panchayat President Archana Bhadauria passed a resolution to rename Mainpuri as Mayan Nagar.

These proposals passed in the district panchayat will now be sent to the government, where the decision will be taken whether to change their name or not.

Also Read :- All in praise for Yogi, Modi lauds UP CM's "double-engine govt's double benefits"

At present, Vijay Singh, the son of former UP CM Kalyan Singh’s son Rajveer Singh Raju, is the district panchayat president in Aligarh. For the first time in politics, she has appeared in an active role. At the same time, the chair of Mainpuri District Panchayat President has come to BJP for the first time. Till now, there was only the possession of the SP. This time in the elections, BJP’s Archana Bhadauria was elected district president.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...