1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. UP polls 2022: BJP give tickets to former IPS Asim Arun and Congress rebel Aditya Singh

UP polls 2022: BJP give tickets to former IPS Asim Arun and Congress rebel Aditya Singh

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Lucknow: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released a second list of candidates for upcoming Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. The new list has 85 candidates name in it including rebel UP Congress leader, Aditi Singh, who will be fielded from Rae Bareli – the last Congress bastion in the state, while former Kanpur top cop, Asim Arun, will contest from Kannauj.

Also Read :- Congress goes to Election Commission's office to complain about 'fake voters' in Karnataka assembly constituency

Ms Singh’s father, Akhilesh Singh was a five-time MLA from this seat, was very close to the Gandhi family. Aditi Singh was regularly photographed with Priyanka Gandhi Vadra whenever the latter visited Rae Bareli. She joined the BJP in November last year.

Rae Bareli is a Congress bastion – Congress President Sonia Gandhi is the Lok Sabha MP from here – and it has voted for the party in every Lok Sabha election since 1980 – except in 1996 and 1998, when the BJP’s Ashok Singh was elected.

A crucial seat where the BJP has declared its candidate is Nighasan in Lakhimpur. Union Minister Ajay Mishra’s son Ashish, who is in jail over charges of running over farmers last October, was a strong contender for this seat, but it has now been given to another candidate.

Former Police commissioner of Kanpur, IPS officer Asim Arun, who quit the service and join the BJP on the day poll dates for 5 states were announced has got a ticket from Kannauj, his hometown.

Also Read :- AAP secures majority to win MCD elections; it dethrones BJP’s 15-year reign

Meanwhile, in Bidhuna, the daughter of a bedridden ex BJP MLA who recently switched over to the Samajwadi Party has been made the BJP candidate. 

Apart from this, Pankaj Gupta from Unnao, Romi Sahani from Palia assembly of Lakhimpur Kheri, Baburam Paswan from Puranpur seat of Pilibhit, Sanjay Gangwar from Pilibhit, Anil Singh from Purwa and others have also been nominated. Let us tell you that Devendra Singh Lodhi from Kasganj, Sarita Bhadauria and others have been nominated from Etawah.

The polling in Uttar Pradesh will be held on February 10, 14, 20, 23, 27 and March 3 and 7 in seven phases. The counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...