1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. UP polls: BJP under pressure to repeat previous victory, high stakes for SP; A look into 2017 polls

UP polls: BJP under pressure to repeat previous victory, high stakes for SP; A look into 2017 polls

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Lucknow: Political stir has increased in Uttar Pradesh as the state is voting to elect its next Chief Minister for the next term in this assembly election 2022. As polling for the fourth phase will be held on February 23, all political parties have give in all their strength for the fourth phase. Incumbent CM Yogi Adityanath, former Cm and Samajwadi Party’s chief Akhilesh Yadav, Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi and other leaders are addressing the election public meeting in a hurry.

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly polls: Former BJP minister Jaynarayan Vyas joins Congress

Notably, the fourth phase of the UP election will be held for 60 assembly seats in 9 districts on February 23, where, elections will be held at the capital Lucknow, Pilibhit, Lakhimpur Kheri, Sitapur district, Hardoi, Unnao, Rai Bareli, Fatehpur and Banda. As many seats are considered to be dominated by the BJP, rival party leader Akhilesh Yadav showed all his strength by conducting a road show here. Rallies were also taken out by CM Yogi Adityanath to woo back his voters. During these high voltage roadshows, both the leaders made their claims of victory.

In the last assembly election, BJP had won seat in the Lucknow, while one seat went to the SP. In such a situation, now there is a big challenge before the BJP to repeat its previous performance.

BJP candidates, who won the seats in the 2017 elections, Jaya Devi from Malihabad, Avinash Dwivedi from Bakshi ka Talab, Swati Singh from Sarojini Nagar, Suresh Kumar Srivastava from Lucknow West, Dr Neeraj Bora from Lucknow North, Ashutosh Tandon Gopalji from Lucknow East, Brajesh Pathak from Lucknow Central, Suresh Chandra Tiwari from cantt had won on BJP ticket, while only Mohanlalganj seat was won by SP candidate Ambrish Pushkar.

The Uttar Pradesh assembly has 403 seats. Political parties were forced to campaign using the virtual medium in the first phase due to a ban on roadshows and physical rallies in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic. The first phase covers the Jat-dominant belt of western UP.

Also Read :- Two domes built at Karnataka bus stop vanish overnight after BJP MP threatens for looking like a mosque

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...