1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. UP polls phase 3: Reputation of veterans like Akhilesh to Asim Arun at stake

UP polls phase 3: Reputation of veterans like Akhilesh to Asim Arun at stake

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Lucknow: The politically crucial state, Uttar Pradesh, is all set to undergo the third phase of ongoing assembly elections on February 20, to decide the fate of fate of  623 candidates from 59 assembly seats spread across 16 districts. While the main contest is primarily between the BJP and the Samajwadi Party, the BSP and the Congress can make a significant impact on a number of seats.

Also Read :- Congress and AAP mock Anurag Thakur; Union minister fails to save his booth

The reputation of many leaders at stake

Let us tell you that many veteran leaders are in fray in this third phase in which Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav will be seen locking horns with the Union Minister and BJP MP from Agra SP Singh Baghel for the Karhal Assembly seat. The The Karhal seat comes under the Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency, dominated by Yadav scion since 1993 except in 2002 when BJP won the seat. This is the first time that Akhilesh Yadav is contesting the assembly polls.

Fight for Kannauj assembly seat

In 2017 polls, the seat was bagged by SP candidate, Anil Kumar Dohare. And this time the BJP has fielded former IPS officer Asim Arun to contest from his very home turf. He had served as Kanpur Police Commissioner and joined the party in January this year. The 1994-batch IPS officer, Arun hails from Kannauj itself. 

Also Read :- Winning Congress MLAs from Himachal Pradesh travel to Chandigarh to discuss next course of action 

Who will have the upper hand in Bundelkhand?

Apart from these areas, voting will be held in Jalaun, Hamirpur, Jhansi and Bundelkhand in the third phase. All the parties are camping fiercely to woo the voters of these areas. This time a direct contest is being seen between the SP and the BJP. The fourth phase of the UP election will be held for 60 assembly seats in 9 districts on February 23, where, elections will be held at the capital Lucknow, Pilibhit, Lakhimpur Kheri, Sitapur district, Hardoi, Unnao, Rai Bareli, Fatehpur and Banda.

The districts which are going to the polls are Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etah, Kasganj, Hathras, Kanpur, Kanpur Dehat, Auraiya, Kannauj, Etawa, Farrukhabad, Jhansi, Jalaun, Lalitpur, Hamirpur, and Mahoba. Of these 16 districts, five are in Western UP, 6 in the Awadh region and 5 in the Bundelkhand region.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...