1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Voting begins in three Lok Sabha and seven Assembly seats today; results on June 26

Voting begins in three Lok Sabha and seven Assembly seats today; results on June 26

By wasmulhaq 
Updated Date

New Delhi: By-polls for three Lok Sabha and seven assembly seats across six states are underway today. Elections are taking place in Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Jharkhand, Delhi, Tripura, and Andhra Pradesh. Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha is also in today’s poll fray.

Also Read :- Delhi to observe dry days from Friday to Sunday amid MCD polls 

Uttar Pradesh

Polling started on Thursday morning for Azamgarh and Rampur, the two Lok Sabha seats in the state. The Samajwadi Party has a stronghold in these two constituencies, but the BJP is set to give them a tough fight. Over 35 lakh voters are eligible to cast their votes and decide the fate of 19 candidates.

By-elections in Azamgarh and Rampur seats are taking place due to the resignation of Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav and another party leader, Azam Khan, respectively. Both were elected to the state assembly. The polling got underway at 7am and will be concluded at 6pm.


Also Read :- Gujarat Assembly Elections 2022: First phase of voting on 89 seats begins; PM Modi urges voters to exercise franchise

Polling for the Mandar assembly constituency in Jharkhand started at 7 am this morning amidst tight security . Over 3.54 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise to elect one MLA among the 14 candidates who are in the poll fray.


People were in a queue at 7 am this morning in Tripura to vote for four assembly seats. Heavy deployment of armed forces has been arranged for smooth polling.

Polling has been underway in Agartala, Town Bardowali, Surma, and Jubarajnagar seats and it will continue till 5pm. Chief Minister Manik Saha has been contesting from the Town of Bardowali constituency against Congress nominee Asish Saha. Currently, he is not a member of the state assembly.


Also Read :- TN BJP claims security breach occurred during PM Modi's visit for Chess Olympiad, submits memorandum to Guv Ravi

By-elections in the Rajinder Nagar constituency in Delhi are in progress. The fight is between a confident AAP and a spirited BJP for the crucial assembly constituency. Overall, 1,64,698 voters are eligible to cast their votes to elect their MLA among the 14 candidates. Heavy security arrangements have been made. Polling began at 7 am and is scheduled to be held till 6 pm.


Voting for the Sangrur Lok Sabha constituency in Punjab has been taking place. AAP is facing its first challenge in the state after winning the assembly polls early this year. Polling got underway at 8 am and will end at 6 am. In total, 15,69,240 eligible voters can exercise their franchise to decide the fate of a total of 16 candidates, including three women.

Andhra Pradesh

The ruling YSR Congress is looking for an easy win in the ongoing bypolls for Atmakuru Assembly seats in the SPS Nellore district of Andhra Pradesh. There are 14 candidates in the poll fray, but the real fight is between the YSRC and the BJP.

The result of the by-elections will be declared on June 26.

Also Read :- Telangana cops tow car with YS Sharmila Reddy sitting inside for protesting against CM


For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...