1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Tamil Nadu polls: DMK rolls out list of 173 leases candidates

Tamil Nadu polls: DMK rolls out list of 173 leases candidates

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Kolkata: Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) President M K Stalin on March 12 released the list of all 173 candidates for the upcoming Tamil Nadu polls. While the party chief will once again contest from Kolathur constituency, his son Udhayanidhi will make his electoral debut from Chepauk-Triplicane.

Also Read :- Mainpuri By-elections 2022: Akhilesh Yadav wife Dimple Yadav, fielded by Samajwadi Party

The move came a day after DMK and AIADMK on Thursday sealed their seat sharing deals to directly fight from 173 and 178 constituencies respectively. From today, nominations will be opened in Tamil Nadu and they can be filled till March 19.

retaining several sitting MLAs and senior ministers.

Earlier on March 7, the DMK had hammered out seat-sharing arrangement with its other allies too, most notably the Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam or MDMK. Its chief Vaiko signed the agreement with Stalin on March 6.

This is the first time the MDMK will contest the Tamil Nadu Assembly election together with the DMK since it was founded in 1994 after Vaiko was ousted from the then M Karuna Nidhi-led DMK.

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly elections 2022: BJP announces 1st list of candidates, CM Bhupendra Patel to contest from Ghatlodiya

“MDMK has joined hands with DMK. The talks went well. DMK president MK Stalin has signed an agreement in which six Assembly constituencies have been allotted to MDMK,” Vaiko had told reporters on Saturday.

Meanwhile, ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) is contesting the polls in a pre-poll alliance with the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). Actor-turned-politician Kamal Hassan’s party Makkal Neethi Maiam (MNM) is also in the fray. The veteran actor will contest from Coimbatore South constituency and not from speculated constituency Alandur in Chennai.

Dravidian majors DMK and AIADMK have allotted the Coimbatore South constituency to their allies Congress and BJP. Entrepreneur Sarathbabu Elumalai, who contested unsuccessfully from Velachery constituency as an independent in 2011, will be contesting from Alandur on MNM ticket.

The polls to elect 234 new members of the Tamil Nadu assembly will be held in a single phase on April 6 and the counting of votes will be done on May 2.

Also Read :- Mamata says no to politics on Morbi bridge collapse, but claims responsibility must be fixed
Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...