1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Watch perfect photos of Yogi Adityanath, Akhilesh Yadav, in all smiles, handshake in Assembly

Watch perfect photos of Yogi Adityanath, Akhilesh Yadav, in all smiles, handshake in Assembly

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Lucknow: The Uttar Pradesh Assembly no Monday witnessed a very rare moment of political affability between Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav, who is set to be named the Leader of the Opposition.

Also Read :- Congress and AAP mock Anurag Thakur; Union minister fails to save his booth

The two leaders met weeks after they traded barbs during a high-octane political campaign and the BJP’s historic return to power in UP.

A video making rounds on social media showed the Chief Minister and rival party chief Akhilesh Yadav, greeting each other and shaking hands on the floor of the House. The Chief Minister is seen patting Mr Yadav on his shoulder before moving on.

SP chief Akhilesh Yadav enters the UP assembly

SP chief Akhilesh Yadav enters the UP assembly

Putting an end to political animosity, both leaders greeted each other in the assembly

Also Read :- Winning Congress MLAs from Himachal Pradesh travel to Chandigarh to discuss next course of action 

UP CM Yogi Adityanath walked across to Leader of Opposition Akhilesh Yadav’s seat in the Assembly and greeted him

Akhikesh Yadav greeted everyone also shook hands with deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya before taking oath

The two leaders were among the 403 winners in these polls who took oath as legislators today. Both of them are first-time MLAs.

It is to be mentioned that, CM Yogi had given up his Lok Sabha stronghold Gorakhpur when he took over the top post. During his last term, he was an MLA. Mr Yadav, on the other hand, resigned as MP from Azamgarh after winning in the Karhal Assembly seat in this assembly polls.

The fiery election campaigns saw a caustic war of words between the two leaders. In one of the remarks that went viral, Mr Yadav referred to CM Yogi as “Baba Bulldozer” – in an attack on BJP’s anti-eviction drives in the state. Mr Adityanath also took swipe at Mr Yadav by calling him a “babua” – meaning juvenile and childish.

Also Read :- AAP secures majority to win MCD elections; it dethrones BJP’s 15-year reign

In this election, the BJP retained power by winning 273 seats along with its allies. While the alliance’s tally dropped by 49 seats, Mr Adityanath became the first Chief Minister in 37 years to reform a government in UP.

On the other hand, Samajwadi Party finished a distant second, winning 111 seats in the 403-member assembly. It managed to record a massive jump in its vote share and clocked its best show in state polls ever.

Notably, all the 111 legislators of SP have unanimously elected Akhilesh as the leader of the legislature party, paving the way for him to lead the Opposition charge in the Assembly.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...