1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. West Bengal assembly election: BJP CEC to finalise first list of candidates today

West Bengal assembly election: BJP CEC to finalise first list of candidates today

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

NEW DELHI: Central election committee of BJP is scheduled to meet on Thursday to finalise the first list of candidates for the 60 seats that are going into the first two phases of the upcoming West Bengal assembly election 2021. The meeting will take place at the party headquarter in Delhi around 7 PM and it will be attended by BJP’s top leaders like – PM Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP president JP Nadda, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, and senior leader BL Santosh among others.

Also Read :- TN BJP claims security breach occurred during PM Modi's visit for Chess Olympiad, submits memorandum to Guv Ravi

BJP West Bengal president Dilip Ghosh had on Tuesday announced that the core committee of the party will soon declare names of the candidates for the first and second phase of elections in West Bengal.

“Core Committee discussed candidates for the first and second phase of the election here in West Bengal. It will soon name declare the names,” Ghosh said adding that the party’s State unit has already shortlisted four to five names per seat for the first two phases of polling.

“We have received 120-140 names from our district units for the first two phases. In addition to that, there are hundreds of other names. We had 20-25 names for each seat and from that, we have shortlisted around 4-5 names per seat. There will be some more omission and after that, it is for the party leadership to decide,” Ghosh said.

The election for state’s 294 assembly seats will be held in eight phases from March 27 with the final round of voting taking place on April 29 whereas, the results will be declared on May 2 along with the results of polls in three other States and a Union Territory.

Also Read :- Gujarat assembly polls: Former BJP minister Jaynarayan Vyas joins Congress

Meanwhile, ahead of assembly polls, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address 20 rallies in poll-bound West Bengal, responding to the huge demand of local BJP leaders of these two states. According to sources, the rallies are planned in such a way that all the 23 districts of West Bengal will be covered in these rallies.

Preparations for Modi’s first rally in West Bengal post the announcement of election dates, party functionaries including Kailash Vijayvargiya, national General Secretary, Mukul Roy, national Vice-President, Sanjay Singh, General Secretary and Swapan Dasgupta, MP, Rajya Sabha are all over seeing arrangements at Brigade Parade Ground, where PM Modi will address a public meeting on March 7.

West Bengal is arguably the biggest election prize for which three party’s will be seen locking horns this time with TMC, Congress-Left alliance and BJP in the fray. Meanwhile, the state Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is seeking her third consecutive term, BJP has set a target of winning 200 seats in the 294-member state Assembly.

In the 2016 West Bengal Assembly elections, out of total 294 seats, Congress had won 44 seats while the Left Front managed to bag 33 seats whereas, the ruling TMC swept 211 seats while BJP struggled to win only 3 seats.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, however, BJP made deep inroads in the state and won 18 seats out of the total 42 Lok Sabha constituencies while reducing TMC’s tally to 22 and Congress’ to two seats. The Left, meanwhile, had drawn a blank.

Also Read :- Two domes built at Karnataka bus stop vanish overnight after BJP MP threatens for looking like a mosque

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...