1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. West Bengal Municipal polls results: TMC registers landslide victory, wins 102 municipalities out of 108

West Bengal Municipal polls results: TMC registers landslide victory, wins 102 municipalities out of 108

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Kolkata: Mamata Benerjee-led ruling Trinamool Congress (TMS) registered a landslide victory in the West Bengal municipal elections 2022, winning 102 of the 108 municipalities. Out of the 102 civic bodies bagged by the TMC, there is no opposition in 31 municipalities. On this big win, TMC chief and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee congratulated all the winning candidates of her party and expressed gratitude over the “overwhelming mandate”. Meanwhile, repolling has been ordered in booth number 3 of Ward No. 2 of Srirampur Municipality as EVM could not be opened.

Also Read :- Congress and AAP mock Anurag Thakur; Union minister fails to save his booth

In a tweet on Wednesday, Banerjee said, “Let victory enhance our responsibility and dedication. Let triumph impart humility. Let us together work for peace, prosperity and development of the state.”

Also Read :- Winning Congress MLAs from Himachal Pradesh travel to Chandigarh to discuss next course of action 

Of the total 2,171 seats in the contest, the TMC won 1,317 seats, as per data provided by the West Bengal SEC.

Meanwhile, Independent candidates have bagged 107 seats, the BJP 57, Congress 51 and CPI(M) 34. 

While, TMC secured its victory in Taherpur Municipality in the Nadia district, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which had emerged as the main Opposition party in West Bengal after winning 77 seats in the Assembly polls last year, failed to open its account. Also, the Congress too failed to win a single seat. However, the newly-formed Humro Party did win the Darjeeling Municipality.

Notably, the civic body polls recorded a 77 per cent voter turnout, marred with violence. Reports of intimidation allegedly by the TMC workers, electoral malpractices and attack on journalists emerged from various parts of the state during the polling day. The BJP, meanwhile, had demanded a repoll. On Monday, the party had called for a 12-hour strike in the state against the civic poll violence and alleged electoral malpractices — a charge denied by the ruling TMC.

Also Read :- AAP secures majority to win MCD elections; it dethrones BJP’s 15-year reign
Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...