1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Mamata registers historic win, reclaims West Bengal for the third consecutive term

Mamata registers historic win, reclaims West Bengal for the third consecutive term

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date

Kolkata: West Bengal ruling Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee once again claims “landslide victory” in the state despite the odds stacked up against the Trinamool Congress. She described her party’s performance as a seems all set to reign for third consecutive term as she captures the most crucial Nandigram constituency by over 1200 votes against her former aide and BJP rival Suvendhu Adhikari, whose December defection triggered a flood of exits from the Trinamool Congress.

Also Read :- Mamata Banerjee to begin her 2-day visit to UP today, to support SP chief Akhilesh Yadav

Addressing a press conference, after her major win, Mamata said, “This win has saved people of Bengal,” however, she also urged her party workers to not to celebrate. She said that the swearing-in ceremony would be a small affair in view of the COVID-19 crisis.

With her party Trinamool Congress crossing the halfway mark in the closely contested assembly election 2021 in the state, the trends suggested after early hours of counting of votes on Sunday.

The ruling TMC was currently leading in 194 seats, while the BJP was leading in 81 seats around 12 noon. If the current trends hold, the party will easily form its third successive government in the state. However, for the most part of early trends, both parties were neck and neck as the latest leads continue to come in.

Counting of votes for the West Bengal Assembly elections began at 8 AM on Sunday amid strict health protocols, as it is taking place amid a raging second wave of COVID-19. People across the country have their eyes fixed on the West Bengal election 2021 results as the BJP looks to break into the Opposition’s last bastion in the East.

Also Read :- BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma sworn-in as 15th chief minister of Assam

The early trends showed that though chief minister Mamata Banerjee was trailing behind BJP`s Suvendu Adhikary in Nandigram, the ruling Trinamool Congress is having an edge over the BJP. The initial trends of 292 seats show that the Trinamool is leading in 194 seats while the BJP was leading in 81 seats and the Congress + on 1 seats.

The 2021 assembly election has been a major test for the ruling Trinamool Congress as the saffron brigade had put in all its might to make its footmark for the first time in West Bengal. But if early trends are taken as an indication, then Mamata Banerjee seems to have an edge over her rival.

United Front – an alliance of Left Front, Congress and the newly formed Indian Secular Front, failed miserably.

There was no election in two assembly constituencies as the respective candidates died before the polls.

On the other hand, Trinamool heavyweights like state education minister Partha Chatterjee, PWD minister Arup Biswas, power minister Sovondeb Chattopadhayay and panchayat minister Subtrata Mukherjee were leading from their respective constituencies but tourism minister Goutam Deb was trailing till the last report came in.

Also Read :- "We had set big target" excuse comes from BJP after TMC wins West Bengal

Several exit poll surveys gave an edge to the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC). In West Bengal, all exit polls predicted that the BJP would make major inroads and a few also said that the party would emerge victoriously.

The Nandigram assembly constituency comes under Purba Medinipur district, which is considered as the bastion of the Adhikari family. Nandigram has a special place in West Bengal’s politics. It was the place where Mamata Banerjee launched her biggest political movement against the Left government in 2007. Suvendu Adhikari was her lieutenant in the movement. He himself has said that it was he who made that movement successful. The Nandigram movement was the beginning of the rise of Trinamool Congress in West Bengal. Mamata came to power in 2011.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...