1. Home
  2. Cricket
  3. WPL 2023: Mumbai Indians created history by defeating Delhi by 7 wickets in the final.

WPL 2023: Mumbai Indians created history by defeating Delhi by 7 wickets in the final.

Mumbai Indians clinch the inaugural title of Women's Premier League 2023.

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

Mumbai:Mumbai Indians have won the first Women’s Premier League (WPL) title. In the final played at Brabourne Stadium, the team defeated Delhi Capitals by 7 wickets. After winning the toss and electing to bat, Delhi scored 131 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs. In response, Mumbai achieved the target in 19.3 overs.
England’s veteran player Natalie Seaver Brunt made Mumbai the champion. He played a memorable innings under pressure. Natalie scored an unbeaten 60 off 55 balls, this is the sixth trophy in the account of the Mumbai franchise. Its men’s team has become champion five times in IPL.
Under the captaincy of Harmanpreet Kaur, Mumbai Indians showed tremendous performance and won the match by defeating Delhi Capitals. In this entire season, Mumbai captain Harman played many excellent innings, on the basis of which Mumbai managed to reach the finals. In this match, Harmanpreet Kaur had a great chance to match Dhoni, which Harman also completed. Dhoni was the first Indian captain to win the trophy in IPL. Harman also won the final match and became the team champion. Harman has become the first Indian captain to win the trophy in WPL. With this, he has equaled Dhoni.

Also Read :- WPL 2023: Mumbai Indians reached the final, defeated UP Warriors by 72 runs in the Eliminator match.

Harmanpreet Kaur,Captain,MIW: Great experience, we were waiting for so many years. Everyone enjoyed this throughout the dressing room. It feels like a dream, for everyone here. So many people were asking when WPL will come and that day is here, and we are so happy and proud. I think having a long batting line-up, we had to go there and express. Very happy with how everyone performed.

Meg Lanning,Captain,DCW: We would have loved to win but full credit to MI. They deserve it but full credit to our group’s efforts. We didn’t really set a target, we wanted to put a few more. We didn’t bat at our best but this competition has shown you can keep going till the end, and then you never know. Very good effort from the bowlers. We did well in the first 10 overs, got early wickets but Harmanpreet and Sciver-Brunt took the game away, they batted very well.

Most Valuable Player-Hayley Matthews
Purple Cap- Hayley Matthews
Orange Cap-Meg Lanning
Catch of the Season-Harmanpreet Kaur
Emerging Player of the Year award-Yastika Bhatia
Women’s Premier League 2023 stats:
Most runs – Meg Lanning (345)
Highest average – Nat Sciver-Brunt (66.4)
Highest SR – Shafali Verma (185.29)
Highest score – Devine 99(36) vs GG
Most sixes – Shafali (13), Devine (13)
Most wickets – Matthews (16), Ecclestone (16)
Best stats – Kapp (5/15) vs Gujarat Giants

Also Read :- WPL 2023: Mumbai Indian's fifth consecutive win, the first team to qualify for the playoffs.
Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...