1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Yogi cabinet resignations led Amit Shah to hold BJP Core Committee meeting

Yogi cabinet resignations led Amit Shah to hold BJP Core Committee meeting

By Saima Siddiqui 
Updated Date
Yogi cabinet resignations led Amit Shah to hold BJP Core Committee meeting

New Delhi: Soon after the Bharatiya Janata Party lost four of its leaders – one Minister and 3 MLAs in poll bound Uttar Pradesh – the party conducted a sector-wise review of six areas on Tuesday under the leadership of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, who took feedback from the regional in-charges about the ground reality in UP at BJP’s Core Committee meeting.

Also Read :- BJP to fight 65 seats in Punjab, ally Amarinder Singh's party gets 37

The marathon meeting was held to discuss the poll strategy and to deliberate on the names of probable candidates for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls that will begin on February 10, as per a report. 

The report further stated that a detailed discussion on the outline of the future programmes of the polling campaign was held during the meeting in view of the Election Commission’s order banning rallies, roadshows and other programs till January 15.

Besides discussing various aspects related to the election strategy, Amit Shah reportedly held a separate meeting. He also spoke to the party leaders about the poll strategy and the current ups and downs in the party. 

In the meeting, the leaders also discussed the seats of western UP along with the seats of the first and second phases. It will continue from 11 am on Wednesday in which the election strategies and seats would be discussed, according to the report.

Also Read :- Shiv Sena wasted 25 yrs in alliance with BJP, Says Maha CM Uddhav Thackeray

The names of the candidates considered in yesterday’s meeting will be placed before the Central Election Committee on Thursday for the final go-ahead from the top leadership.

The meeting was attended by Amit Shah, BJP Uttar Pradesh poll in-charge Dharmendra Pradhan, BJP UP General Secretary (Organization) Sunil Bansal and National General Secretary (organization) BL Santhosh. BJP President Jagat Prakash Nadda, who recently tested positive for COVID-19, also joined the meeting virtually. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, UP BJP president Swatantra Dev Singh and Deputy CMs Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma also attended meeting at the party headquarters in New Delhi. 

Earlier on Monday, in Lucknow the BJP’s 24-member UP election committee deliberated on the names of probable candidates for 113 constituencies that will go to the polls in the first two phases of the seven-phase Assembly elections that begin on February 10.

Swami Prasad Maurya resigned, 3 MLAs too quit BJP and joined SP

Soon after Swami Prasad Maurya, a top minister in the Yogi Adityanath government, posted his resignation letter on Twitter, three more MLAs, Roshan Lal Verma, Brijesh Prajapati and Bhagwati Sagar, announced their resignations citing “ignorance of the state government” of the poor and weaker section of society. Maurya held Cabinet portfolios of labour and social welfare.

Also Read :- UP polls 2022: Will support Akhilesh Yadav if needs be, says Priyanka Gandhi

A powerful OBC (Other Backward Class) leader and five-time MLA, Swami Prasad Maurya, joined the BJP in 2016 after quitting Samajwadi Party. And before his entry to SP he was in Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). He was central to the BJP’s plans to draw a critical section of OBC voters to counter Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party.

The other three defectors took the same political route as Mr Maurya – from the BSP to the BJP to Samajwadi Party.

Prajapati, who had resigned along with Maurya, told media that their demand for the caste-wise census for the OBC was overlooked by the BJP government and added that recruitments to various departments were being done in a wrong manner. He, however, did not reveal which party he will join but said that he will follow whatever his leader (Swami Prasad Maurya) decides. 

Another MLA Bhagwati Prasad, who resigned from the party, said that they have been mulling the resignation for a long time and the decision was taken now keeping the “welfare of society” in mind.

In his letter to Governor Anandiben Patel, Swami Prasad Maurya said he was resigning as the state government “ignoring interests” of Dalits, backward sections, farmers, unemployed youth and small traders. A prominent leader from the OBC (Other Backward Class) community, Maurya had joined the BJP from Bahujan Samaj Party in 2016.

Notably, elections for the 403 assembly constituencies in UP will be held in seven phases starting from February 10, as the polling in the state will be held on February 10, 14, 20, 23, 27 and March 3 and 7. The counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Also Read :- Bengal bureaucrats skip virtual meet with PM Narendra Modi

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook and Twitter ...