1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Mizoram: Lalduhoma, ZPM leader, takes oath as the first non-Congress, non-MNF CM in the state

Mizoram: Lalduhoma, ZPM leader, takes oath as the first non-Congress, non-MNF CM in the state

The ZPM, registered as a political party in 2019, secured victory over the Mizo National Front (MNF), led by outgoing Chief Minister Zoramthanga, by winning 27 seats, a substantial increase from its 8-seat tally in the 2018 polls.

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) leader Lalduhoma took the oath as the Chief Minister of Mizoram on Friday. The swearing-in ceremony, administered by Mizoram Governor Hari Babu Kambhampati, unfolded at 11 am in Aizawl at the Raj Bhavan complex.

Also Read :- Mizoram: NIA busts cross-border weapon smuggling network in Aizwal, key accused arrested

ZPM Leader Lalduhoma Securing 27 Seats

Following the recently announced results of the Mizoram Assembly Elections 2023, ZPM secured an impressive victory by winning 27 out of 40 seats, solidifying its claim to form the government in the northeastern state of India.

Lalduhoma, emerging victorious as the MLA from the Serchhip constituency, garnered a total of 8314 votes. This count surpassed the second-best performer, J. Malsawmzuala Vanchhawng of the Mizo National Front, by a notable margin of 2982 votes. The triumph marked ZPM’s ascendancy in Mizoram’s political landscape.

Also Read :- 8 Injured after Myanmar military aircraft veers off runway at Mizoram airport

Lalduhoma: From IPS Officer to Mizoram Chief Minister

Lalduhoma, a 74-year-old former Indian Police Service (IPS) officer, has embarked on a remarkable political journey that led to his recent swearing-in as the Chief Minister of Mizoram. Here’s a glimpse into his illustrious career:

IPS Career (1977-1984): Lalduhoma began his journey as an IPS officer, achieving selection in 1977. Notably, he served as the security in-charge of former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi in 1982.

Political Transition (1984-1988): Transitioning from his IPS role, Lalduhoma entered politics and became a Congress MP in 1984. However, he resigned from the Congress and became the first MP to face disqualification under the anti-defection law in November 1988.

Insurgency Resolution (1986): Lalduhoma played a pivotal role in ending the insurgency in Mizoram, contributing to the signing of the Mizoram Peace Accord in 1986.

Formation of Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) (1997): After leaving the IPS, Lalduhoma formed the Mizo National Front (Nationalist), later renamed Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) in 1997. In 2003, he won assembly polls as a ZNP candidate.

Also Read :- Mizoram: 3 people arrested after Assam Rifles seizes drugs worth Rs 68.41 crore

Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) (2017): In 2017, ZNP joined a six-party coalition to create Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM).

2018 Assembly Elections and Independent MLA (2018): In the 2018 Mizoram Assembly Elections, Lalduhoma was elected as an Independent MLA, as ZPM was not yet recognized by the Election Commission of India (ECI).

Recognition of ZPM as a Political Party (2019): In 2019, ZPM gained recognition as a political party by the ECI.

Disqualification as MLA (2020): In 2020, Lalduhoma was disqualified as an MLA under the anti-defection law.

Despite the twists and turns, Lalduhoma’s political journey has culminated in his recent elevation to the position of Chief Minister in Mizoram.

Also Read :- Mizoram Reinstates General Consent for CBI Investigations to Enhance Transparency
Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...