1. Home
  2. Nation
  3. BJP released the list of Rajya Sabha candidates

BJP released the list of Rajya Sabha candidates

There are two names from Gujarat in the list of BJP's Rajya Sabha candidates, while the party has fielded one candidate from West Bengal.

By Team Pardaphash 
Updated Date

BJP has released the list of Rajya Sabha candidates from Gujarat and West Bengal. BJP has finalized the names of Babubhai Jesangbhai Desai, Kesridev Singh Zala from Gujarat and Anant Maharaj from West Bengal. Out of 11 Rajya Sabha seats from Gujarat, 8 are currently held by the BJP and the rest by the Congress. Of the eight seats held by the BJP, the tenure of S Jaishankar, Jugalji Thakor and Dinesh Anavadiya will end on August 18. Elections are to be held for these three seats only.

Also Read :- BJP Nominates Three Union Ministers in Second Candidate List for Madhya Pradesh

Let us inform that BJP’s National General Secretary Arun Singh has issued a statement and made its formal announcement on Wednesday. The party has already announced the name of External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar from another seat in Gujarat. Elections are to be held for 6 Rajya Sabha seats in West Bengal, 3 in Gujarat and one in Goa on July 24.

Election to be held on 10 Rajya Sabha seats

Voting for Rajya Sabha is to be held on 10 seats in three states on July 24, which includes 3 seats in Gujarat. Union Minister S Jaishankar has filed nomination from Gujarat itself on 10th July. Whereas, the Congress has laid down its arms. The Grand Old Party has said that it does not have sufficient number of representatives in the state, so it will not field a candidate this time. At the same time, elections are to be held on one Rajya Sabha seat in Goa, as Vinay D Tendulkar’s term ends on July 28.

6 seats are vacant in West Bengal

Also Read :- Naveen Patnaik Commends PM Modi, Gives His Government an '8 out of 10' Rating

Six Rajya Sabha seats have fallen vacant in West Bengal. The state’s ruling Trinamool Congress has fielded candidates for 6 seats. TMC has fielded Derek O’Brien, Dola Sen, Sukhendu Shekhar Ray, Samirul Islam, Prakash Chik Baraik and Saket Gokhale as candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

The last date for filing nominations for Rajya Sabha candidates is July 13 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is July 17. Voting will be held on July 24.

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...