1. Home
  2. Cricket
  3. Asia Cup 2023 Final: Mohammed Siraj achieved a historic feat by taking 6 wickets in final match against Sri Lanka

Asia Cup 2023 Final: Mohammed Siraj achieved a historic feat by taking 6 wickets in final match against Sri Lanka

Mohammed Siraj achieved a historic feat on Sunday, September 17 in the Asia Cup 2023 final taking a six-wicket haul for not many as Sri Lanka were reduced to 12/6. Siraj became the first Indian bowler to achieve an outstanding bowling record in ODIs.

By Ruchi Upadhyay 
Updated Date

New Delhi: Indian pacer Mohammed Siraj achieved a historic feat in the ongoing final of the Asia Cup. Siraj took six wickets, becoming only the first player to take a sixer in the tournament’s history (ODI format). Siraj claimed the wickets of Pathum Nissanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Mendis to complete his six-wicket haul.

Also Read :- India made history by achieving the top rank in all three formats of the ICC rankings

The final match of Asia Cup 2023 is to be played today at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. In the final match of Asia Cup 2023, the title battle will be between the defending champion Sri Lanka and India, who has become the champion of Asia Cup for the maximum number of times (India vs Sri Lanka Final). In the Super Four match between Sri Lanka and India, Sri Lankan bowling overpowered Indian batting. Sri Lankan bowlers look helpless in front of Mohammed Siraj and have lost 6 wickets at the score of 12. Mohammad Siraj has taken 5 wickets for 4 runs..

After Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka has also returned to the pavilion. Mohammad Siraj showed him the way to the pavilion on the very first ball of his second over, thanks to Jadeja’s brilliant catch at point. After this, Siraj also sent Sadira Samarawickrama to the pavilion by LBW. After this, he also dismissed Dhananjay D’Silva and took 4 wickets in the over.

Jasprit Bumrah has given the first blow to Sri Lanka on the very third ball of the match. He got Kusal Perera caught by Rahul behind the wicket. In the first over, Bumrah took one wicket for 7 runs.

Also Read :- Despite Shubman Gill's century, Bangladesh secured an exciting consolation victory

Sri Lankan openers Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Perera have started the innings. Jasprit Bumrah is bowling the first over.

After the completion of the toss, it suddenly started raining in Colombo, due to which the match is getting delayed a bit. However, now the covers have been removed from the field and the match will start at 3.40 pm.

India’s playing XI

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Siraj.

Sri Lanka’s playing XI

Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (wicketkeeper), Sadira Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjay de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dunith Velalej, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madushan and Mathisha Pathirana.

Also Read :- Sri Lanka is set to meet India in the Asia Cup final following a tense last-over finish

Further reading:
For the latest news and reviews, follow us on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter पर फॉलो करे...